22 January 2011

Thank You!

As most of you know, the mission of the Beaufort District Collection is to acquire, preserve, maintain and make accessible a research collection of permanent value which records the history, culture and environment of the area of lowcountry South Carolina once known as the old historic Beaufort District.

We are very grateful to all the generous individuals and organizations who helped us meet our mission in 2010.

Through the years, we have built a solid reference collection through a combination of purchases and donations. The Beaufort County Library and the Beaufort District Collection would like to thank the following people and organizations for their generous donations of local history reference books, videos, photographs, maps, posters, postcards and/or documents that were added to our holdings during 2010:

Dennis Adams
John Albert
Arts Council of Beaufort County
Barr & Associates
Bill Behan
Maria Benac
Amanda Brewer
Colin Brooker
Fredrick & Catherine Christensen
Ian deNeeve
Friends of the Beaufort County Library
Fran Hays
Historic Beaufort Foundation
Alice Connelly Moore
Vennie Deas Moore
Ted Morris
Gloria Singleton
Nelle Smith
Mary Socci
Town of Hilton Head Island
Norman Vincent Turner
Women of Daufuskie Island
Julie Zachowski

Although our primary charge is to be good stewards of the materials we hold in trust for our community and share them with researchers, a lot of people interested in local history do not necessarily enjoy the process of research. Accordingly, a special collections library needs to share its materials with the community in other ways such as programs. During 2010, we amped up opportunities for lifelong learning and leisure through 24 BDC sponsored programs on local history, oral history, genealogy, and archaeology.

We are grateful to the folks and organizations who donated their services in support of the BDC @ The Branches local history series during 2010:
Dr. Jodi Barnes
Colin Brooker
Dr. Nic Butler
Michael D. Coker
Sheila Harrell-Roye
Stephen Hoffius
Bill McIntosh
Laura Lee Rose
Gloria Singleton
Dr. Mary Socci
Greg Smith
Gerhard Spieler
Carl Steen
Dr. Kerry Taylor
Baynard Woods

And we cannot forget our most enduring supporters, the Beloved BDC Docents: Bill Culp, Harriet Rahm, Hugh Folk, Jan Johnson, Laura Lewis, Sherry Puccini, and Zakary Haigler. Each of them donated time and skill during 2010. They perform such tasks as map encapsulation, diary transcription, magazine article title indexing, maintenance of our obituary index, and filing "stuff" which helps us share our holdings with the community.

A heartfelt "Thank You" for your support of and donations to the unique Beaufort District Collection. The BDC serves our community much better because of you!

N. B. You, too, can be numbered in a similar list next year. Consider donating your local history materials, time or talents to the BDC. Contact me at 255-6446 or via e-mail at gracec@bcgov.net to discuss how.

No comments: